Alex Hunter Affidavit Regarding Burke Ramsey

Discussion in 'Evidence Files: Ramsey murder case' started by Tricia, Jun 3, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tricia

Tricia Administrator Staff Member

It's interesting to note that Ramsey civil attorney typed up Alex Hunter's affidavit and faxed it to Hunter to sign. Hunter made a few changes and signed it.

Below is the text of the affidavit.

AFFIDAVIT of ALEXANDER HUNTER - October 12th, 2000

State of Colorado
    County of Colorado

Personally appeared before the undersigned officer duly authorized by law to administer oaths, ALEXANDER M. HUNTER, who being first duly sworn, deposes and says as follows:

1. My name is Alexander M. Hunter. I am over 21 years of age and I am cmpetant to make and give this Affidavit, and do so from personal knowledge.

2. I am an attorney duly licensed in the State of Colorado. Since January 9th, 1973, I have been the elected District Attorney for the 20th Judicial District, County of Boulder, State of Colorado.

3. On or about December 26th, 1996, JonBenét Ramsey, a six year old minor child, was murdered in her home in Boulder, Colorado.

4. Since the date of her death, I have been continuously involved in the investigation of JonBenét's homicide.

5. As part of the investigation into the murder of JonBenét Ramsey, questions about any possible involvement by her brother, Burke Ramsey, who was 9 years of age at the time of his sister's murder and who was one of the individuals present in the house at the time of her murder, were raised and investigated as part of standard investigative practices and procedures.

6. From December 26th, 1996, to the date of this affidavit, no evidence has ever been developed in the investigation to justify elevating Burke Ramsey's status from that of witness to suspect.