Patsy's April 30, 1997 Police Testimony

Discussion in 'Justice for JonBenet Discussion - Public Forum' started by Catfish, Sep 28, 2004.

1. Catfish

Catfish Member

Hi,

I am still fairly new to the JonBenet Ramsey case and I'm trying to understand certain aspects of it. I have written down a few statements and observations from Patsy's first testimony with Boulder Police Department that strike me as curious. The quotes and page numbers are taken from the paperback edition of the National Enquirer book JonBenet - The Police Files.

From Patsy's testimony, we learned that she is a very intelligent and talented woman. Patsy tells police she graduated from West Virginia University with high honors (magna cum lauda) with a degree in journalism. (p.25) She won the talent portion of 1979 Miss America contest with her delivery of dramatic dialogue she wrote herself. (p. 26) Patsy had the talent to express herself skillfully under pressure in the beauty pageant, so I wondered if this talent of expression would be evident under the pressure of her police testimony.

We do know that Patsy not only had four months to think about JonBenet's death before her first testimony, she also had private investigators to assist her and John in researching information about the case and keeping her informed of developments.

In her testimony on April 30, 1997, Steve Thomas asked Patsy if she was aware of anyone associated with Access Graphics who might have a grudge against John, something that seems reasonable that Patsy and John would have discussed as a possible motive for the crime.

We learn from other sources that there were former employees were investigated. Concerning the $118,000 ransom demand -

Steve Thomas had learned from Patsy's mother and two sisters that John's first marriage ended because of an affair John had 20 years earlier with a woman named Lucinda . He asked Patsy if she was aware of the affair and if it was possible Lucinda might have an old grudge against John?